Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jun. 05, 2006 - 4:24 p.m.

Love 'til it Hurts...

A dear friend of mine recently shared a beautiful Mother Teresa quote with me that has been stuck in my head.

"I have found the paradox that if I love until it hurts, then there is no hurt, but only more love."

It's interesting how God gets messages to us when we most need to hear them. I came across this quote yesterday right after coming home from Mass. At Mass, the homily was about communicating from a place of love instead of from a place of judgment, fear, condemnation, or insecurity. On the feast of Pentecost, we were reminded of Jesus' first message to his disciples after his resurrection. He said to them, "Peace be with you." Think about all that Jesus could have said to them at that very moment. There must have been so many things on his mind to say to his disciples, some of whom had abandoned him when he needed them most. He could have approached them with anger or with disappointment. He could have voiced his hurt at being denied by one of them. He could have yelled or punched walls or given them the silent treatment. But he didn�t. He offered them his peace. He greeted them with love. How different would our world be if we approached all of our interactions and conversations with love? How would our relationships be strengthened if we embraced Mother Teresa�s paradox of loving �til it hurts?

I found it interesting that I found this quote after hearing that homily and being reminded of Jesus' compassion, of his truly unconditional love for his disciples and for us. It's like God was driving the point home. He wanted to make sure I got the message loud and clear. It was a reminder I needed. It's a reminder we all need from time to time.



previous entry - next entry

Miss Something?

The Best is Yet to Come - Friday, May. 11, 2007

Housing for Homeless Alcoholics - Thursday, Jul. 06, 2006

Love 'til it Hurts... - Monday, Jun. 05, 2006

I am comforted... - Friday, Apr. 21, 2006

The Long Loneliness... - Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!