Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jul. 06, 2006 - 4:34 p.m.

Housing for Homeless Alcoholics

I came across this article today, and it brought me back to my life a year ago in Phoenix. The complex issues of poverty and homelessness were issues I pondered on a daily basis, as I came face to face with realities that I had never before witnessed in my previously sheltered life. I slowly transformed into a different person during my time in Phoenix...I hoped to become someone who could truly love every person she encountered, regardless of their circumstances, way of life, and choices. I think that's something I'll always aspire to -- at least I hope it is!

This article talks about a new facility in Seattle that provides housing for homeless alcoholics. Many shelters and low income housing options require residents to be clean and sober, often for a set amount of time. Other programs require residents to attend church services, Bible studies, or discipleship programs. However, a shift has been occurring in cities throughout the country to a movement called "housing first." This approach encourages getting a roof over the person's head first, then dealing with other issues that exist. Proponents argue that you can't expect anyone to make significant life changes, especially ones as complex as overcoming addiction, while they're homeless.

According to the National Alliance to End Homelessness, "A housing first approach rests on two central premises:

- Re-housing should be the central goal of our work with people experiencing homelessness, and

- By providing housing assistance and follow-up case management services after a family or individual is housed, we can significantly reduce the time people spend in homelessness."

You can read more about "housing first" by clicking here or here.

Check out the article and let me know your thoughts on this facility in Seattle and on the housing first approach in general.

Click here to read the article online.



previous entry - next entry

Miss Something?

The Best is Yet to Come - Friday, May. 11, 2007

Housing for Homeless Alcoholics - Thursday, Jul. 06, 2006

Love 'til it Hurts... - Monday, Jun. 05, 2006

I am comforted... - Friday, Apr. 21, 2006

The Long Loneliness... - Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!